top of page
  • Writer's pictureILICarrieDoll

Alice Girl - Cage in Dream - Set review

As I mentioned in my previous blogs, this is my first pre-order dress (also my first full set dress) and I was super excited. I ordered on December 2018 together with Komugi Hime


We were expecting to have everything arrived by April, but after several mishaps on Alice Girl side we only received them in early May.


The tag is so cute and it came with a spare button


KC and Bonnet


Nice welcoming postcard


I was very exited to have them finally arrived :heart_eyes: I really love the tag. It's so cute (and it comes with washing instructions (in English))~


And the print is so colorful and cute! :heart:

However it soon turned into a pretty disappointment 🙄



Chest Cut

Let's begin with the cut. Based on the official photos, the chest part should be almost to the navel part, not immediately below chest.

I don't really like below chest cuts because it kinda made me look fat :pensive:



Chest Decoration

Now the funnier part. From the official photos, there's a beautiful pearl and bird cage chain decorating the upper part of the jsk.

And yes it came with the dress (and understandably separately). The chain have 4 hooks.

Now the question is, how do I hang them? I can't find any rings to hook the chain :weary:



Middle/Main Ribbon

The ribbon is not secured at all! It's super easy for it to slide off! Better be careful or you have to work hard to assemble them back :joy:



Blouse

The main culprit why our dresses arrived late. We were informed they ran out of blouses, and I was in disbelief because we did a pre-order :neutral_face:


Anyway, back to the blouse. The bow tie is separate from the blouse and I have no complain here. It secure well with the blouse :blush:

But I have the same issue with the middle ribbon, and for the bow tie it's worst because it made of satin - it's more slippery! 🤣



Sleeve Part

From the official photos, the sleeves supposedly to be all the way to the wrist. But as you can see it's way shorter :sob: Not to mentioned the blouse is pretty tight.



Extra Ribbons

They didn't give official photos (or postcard like some brands do) so I have no idea where these ribbons meant to be. The official photos are also not in HD so I can't tell. Not going to complain much because tbh I can have some fun with them :stuck_out_tongue:



KC and Bonnet

I have no issues with the kc. It's cute and secured well.

The bonnet however... it's too soft and pretty impossible to wear it! :weary:

But I won't complained much for now, probably I'm still noob with soft bonnet and I will practice to wear it.



Conclusion

Alice Girl is one of the cheapest Taobao brand and I think now I can see why. The fabric is super thin, but it's perfect for Malaysia weather so I have no complain on that. The laces are pretty beautiful, but as you can see they really have many issues with the cuts and designs. I'll be honest I don't think I will buy any Alice Girl dresses anymore.


Before this quite a number of local Lolitas complained of the brand but I also meet few girls wearing them and they do look ok (yes visually even mine looks fine). While waiting for my dress to arrive, I discovered some girls sold their earlier batch on Xianyu (Taobao's second hand market) which surprised me. But now I think I can see why.



Breakdown

Jsk, blouse, kc: Alice Girl

Otks, petticoat cage: Classical Puppets

Shoes: Bodyline

Wristcuffs: Red Maria (Taobao)

Wig: Dream Holic

257 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page