top of page
  • Writer's pictureILICarrieDoll

Having Children at Late Age

I had these thoughts for years. People often said it's OK to have kids late, like in late 30s to mid 40s. It's never too late to have kids. With modern healthcare, risk and complications on both the older mother and the baby had been very low.

However I wonder if they have put thoughts regarding their kids well being by having kids at late age?


Have you ever thought how the kids might feel when they wanna be active; playing with you, do activities with you but you are unable to do most of them due to be being faster to get exhausted/tired compare your younger years?


Have they thought how long they may live/will be around for their kids?

Have the thought they of their own and their kids potential health issues as well?


Have they thought the potential health issues they may have while the kids still growing up? When the kids still in their school years? Have they thoughts the burdens they may bring upon the kids when the kids supposedly to enjoy childhood? Imagine their kids spend time worrying of their health instead of going out and have fun with their peers.


Have they ever thought the large age gap between their kids may causes emotional issues such understanding generation, cultures and moral values differences?


I dunno, sometimes the statement "It's never too late to have kids" really make me feel these people are selfish coz they only think about themselves, not for the kids.


Yeah I know life is unpredictable, all these issues can be suffered by parents at any age. I know some late parents be able to do well in rising children. I'm just talking statistic of issues people may have at late age, and at that time usually kids already on their own.


I had these thoughts for years because I meet many late parents are happy/content and think they had managed it, but I also meet many children resent having much older parents due to all issues I stated above.


I know lately I had become a bit emotional as I am reaching mid 30s and still not married, what more having kids. Not going to lie, I do want to have kids but I also didn't want to be unfair to them for unable to provide the basic needs of need from me. Plus with my health issues I am also worried how my pregnancy and delivery will be.


Also you need to know where I come from. Malaysia average life span is short, my family especially. I lost most of my relatives before they even reach 60s. So imagine me having kids in to mid 40s, only to die when my kids still in school, when they still need me, when I should had be there for them?

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 by ILI. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page