top of page
  • Writer's pictureILICarrieDoll

I Had been Living with Guilt

This is probably going to be my most unpopular opinion; privileged people's pains are valid too.

Originally titled "Privileged People are not Allowed to have Insecurities?", it had been in draft since 2022. I just couldn't finish it. It was too personal to me. But with something had happened recently I am finally motivated to finish this writing.


I remember people ridicule Kendall Jenner whenever she talks of her anxieties and insecurities, people ridicule Anderson Cooper whenever he talks of the pain losing his brother to suicide. People disgustingly said Kendall and Anderson should be suffering anxieties nor depression because they have money. Because they're rich.


I was and still appalled. People may forget that privileged or not, they're still people; they still have issues and insecurities to deal with as well. Sure privileged people may have their issues handled easier compared to some thanks to their easy access of wealth or support or both. But that doesn't mean their pain is invalid. Their pain and struggles to overcome are as valid as everyone's else.


Hell recently I even saw a disabled person/amputee openly said this:

I know how many people live in their dissatisfied world, struggling with anxiety, depression, complexes or eating disorders, because they can't see how beautiful they really are. This is unreal to me. Shockingly every time I see a girl who is beautiful, smart, has quality, has style, has a job, is independent, how unhappy she can be with herself and develops one or all of the disorders. Maybe I'm harsh or arrogant, but when I look at me who spent my whole childhood in the hospital, had 34 surgeries, lost a leg, don't have all my fingers, I'm still limping (and everyone who knows me before the amputation knows how I walked, how much a struggle it was with orthotics, shoes, everything), but I in spite of everything, I am pleased with myself. Maybe I'm wrong so correct me, but I'm so selfish and ungrateful of people when they have everything, and create some demons for themselves because, there, they have 2 pounds extra. Then cut your leg off and you'll have those 2 pounds lighter! This is my honest opinion.

Due to this I hide my pain and struggle. Due to this I try my best to be positive to the point it becomes toxic positivity. Due to this I had been living with a strong feeling of guilt. I know I am blessed and privileged than most people, and yet I suffer several mental illness; I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder, with minor ADHD and OCD.


I have times I hate myself. I have times when I'm just feeling depressed for no reason. I have times when feeling hopeless. I attempted suicide 7 times and (thankfully) survived all. I know to some I would seem as an ungrateful person; I have a loving, understanding and supportive family. I have a healthy, loving relationship with my both past and current partner who always would go out of the way to pamper me. I had and am still getting good jobs. A reasonable amount of wealth to survive and to be able to travel around the world. Many people even said I have an interesting life.


Do people think I want to have all these mental illnesses? No! I'll happily trade all of them with them. And let's be real, I do think these people do suffer mental illness as well, but they were too occupied with other problems to notice.


I always believe it's pointless lamenting on things we couldn't achieve/afford but focusing on things that we can. For those who know me know I take pride with my tenacity and adapting capability (they might be untrue but let me have this fantasy). However in recent years I'm finding myself getting harder to adapt to changes, particularly with my health issues and changes of lifestyle. I'm trying to stay as positive as possible but I understand it will be worse if I did not acknowledge my pain and struggles. I would be repeating the toxic positivity cycle all over again.


Adapting to these sudden, quite traumatic changes took a toll on my mental health. I try to stay positive and smile but the truth is I sadly have become somewhat pessimistic, irritable, impatient, easily frustrated and prone to throw tantrums.

I was having a sudden, random depression at 6am with these troubling thoughts (especially with what that amputee said) when a dear friend consoled me:

The human mind is an enigma, and a complete mess. To which I say, to each their own. Just live your life, regardless of what other brains wanna say. They have their reasons to be spiteful, but to some extent it is valid. But that doesn't mean that your own opinions and emotions aren't valid. We all live on this marble floating through space so honestly just take what you can get while you can and make the most out of it.

This is a great reminder.

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 by ILI. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page