top of page
  • Writer's pictureILICarrieDoll

Don Don Donki + Mensa Mini Gathering

Due to the pandemic I hardly left the house and even if I do I would go out alone. So when several friends said they wanted to go out and Mensa decided to have a mini gathering, I decided to plan to go out with them on the same night with Mensa event.

iZyoo gang, left to right; the Aun siblings Max and Ze Ming and my university friend Kae.

Don Don Donki, founded by Takao Yasuda, Don Quijote opened its first store in Suginami, Tokyo in September 1980 under its original name, Just Co. Originally a retail store, Just Co. quickly switched to wholesale in 1982. The company opened its first "Don Quijote" named store in Fuchu, Tokyo in March 1989.



Don Don Donki

When Don Don Donki first opened in Malaysia (specifically at Lot 10 at Bukit Bintang), Kae and Ze Ming and I kinda look forward to go. It's been awhile since I'm out in KL with friends so I kinda look forward. We initially wanted to wait till the case went down but in the end screwed it, we are unsure of the future so we decided to just go.

Max (Ze Ming's younger brother and also my teammate at iZyoo) decided to tag along. Honestly this had been awhile since I wearing full makeup. Here is us after shopping in Don Don Donki to enjoy foods we bought inside (they provided eating area for customers).

Don Don Donki entrance at the 2nd floor with non-food items range from toys to daily usage items, exercise apparels and makeups. But majority of them are makeups, took half of the floor. However I noticed the toys are very common; they're easily find at other places across Malaysia, and some of the the makeups also available at other shops in KL and they are also slightly pricier (but I admit they have more varieties).

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Vivamus id ligula ut diam fringilla ultricies. Mauris porta massa ac lorem varius, vitae elementum nisl dignissim. Donec ut tempor libero, a dapibus metus. Etiam euismod enim ut mauris rhoncus interdum.

One thing I love about Don Don Donki is the decorations!!! I'm a sucker to plant elements; let it be natural or fake (preferably natural for green proposes). I love the feels like I'm in a forest. They even enhanced the natural elements further with wooden floor tiles.

Outside there's the famous Sweet Factory and safuto (soft ice-cream) vendors. That way people can enjoy them without the need to go inside. The queue is quite long too.

The sweet potatoes and the safuto are really delicious! Really live up to their reputation!


After I'm done with Don Don Donki, time to head to The Journal Hotel for the Mensa gathering, and it just located 10 by foot (in fact you can see the hotel from Don Donki).

Randomly see this on the floor at Lot 10 area. Need to try this one day.



Mensa Mini Gathering

Somewhere in 2019 the Malaysian Mensa planned to have the end year party, called The End Year Bash at The Journal Hotel. However due to the COVID-19 pandemic we had to cancelled it. However we had paid for the booking and the hotel did not offer refund but rather they offered special dinner for small gathering at any time. Since things are rather uncertain, we decided to to have the gathering asap.

Conveniently located in Bukit Bintang, The Kuala Lumpur Journal Hotel is a retro-inspired accommodations surrounded by specialty bars and shopping centers. This boutique hotel features 2 dining options, a rooftop infinity pool and a fitness center. Free WiFi throughout and free parking are provided.


Featuring floor-to-ceiling windows, every room is stylishly decorated and includes a 40-inch satellite TV. Guests enjoy ergonomic mattresses and microfibre pillows. Certain rooms have a separate seating area and a Nespresso machine. The private bathroom is fitted with a rain shower and premium toiletries.

The Terrace Bar & Grill offers al fresco dining and an open bar, serving drinks and small bites. Daily buffet breakfast and fresh pastries are offered at Kedai Kopi Journal. Alternatively, Alor Street has plenty of dining options and various restaurants are located within a 5-minute walk away.

Guests can relax in the poolside overlooking the city or work in the modern communal space. Staff at the 24-hour reception are happy to assist you with local area information and taxi hire. Airport transfers and laundry can be arranged at an additional charge. Bukit Bintang Monorail stations is 300 m from The Kuala Lumpur Journal Hotel, while retail shops are located around the property. Petronas Twin Towers is 0.8 mi away and the nearest airport is Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport, a 19 mi drive.

This is our guests' favorite part of Kuala Lumpur, according to independent reviews.

View from the top floor from day to night. We stayed from 6pm to 9pm. I must say the atmosphere and view are nice. I wish I discover this boutique hotel asap.

The food are nice (but pricey as expected) and as usual I'm the only on not having alcohol.

Originally I had fruit punch, but then I wanted more, so coca-cola for me. Cheers!


Loving the location, loving all these photos, I looked like living a high life ahahahaha. Been saving to wear this for today. I never wore crop type clothing before and I admit this is a new experience to me hahaha. I think I would look better with black jeans instead.

12 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page