top of page
  • Writer's pictureILICarrieDoll

Mensa Creative Writing Virtual Gathering (1st August 2021)

Few days ago I received an email from the Mensa International Creative Writing SIG (Special Interest Group) virtual gathering. Being someone who enjoys writing, I decided to join as the timing not bad (4pm Dublin = 11pm Malaysia) and it's perfect as I usually sleep at midnight.

However when the date arrived, I almost didn't want to join due to severe depression, but in the end I managed to pull it through.


Initially I informed I only want to listen and observe as this is my first time attending the gathering. But after several people presenting/reading their writings, I feel I wanted to present something, I wanted to be part of the discussion. I immediately grabbed my pen and begin to write. I then sheepishly type in the chat saying I wanted to read something.


I was nervous because everything was very spontaneous; from my writing to wanting to read my writing. Not to mention I was the only non-British in the gathering and the youngest. I am a bit nervous with my accent and I hope they can understand me.


I was once young and was in love
I was young and dreams of future
I was young and wishes happiness
I was looking forward to marriage, and even starting a family
Like my parents did

Oh how young and vibrant they are, 
They may be old to the eyes of the world
But their soul and love are as young as they can be

I was young and was happily with someone
A year and a year goes by, I did say yes and then another year and year goes by
But finally after a decade
We somehow parted ways

Now I'm no longer young and I'm also out of love 
There was nothing but emptiness and void 
Now I no longer young and trying to learn to fill the void 
For I had spent a decade without having the chance to feel alone

But now I am alone
Now I am just by myself 
I am confused, bewildered, and lonely
I wasn't sure what to do

I am now no longer young but I know it's still not too late to find love
And finding love I did
For once I feel the warmth of love
For once I feel hope again

But fate being cruel again
Here comes the dark cloud 

The pandemic

Separating us
Making me on my own again
I am alone
I am alone again

I am no longer young and I am in despair.
All I can hope now these clouds to go away. 

So I can see him again.
So I can hold him again.

I am no longer young and I can only hope.
And hoping all I can do.

In the end I'm glad I managed to pulled myself to attend the gathering and even take the chance to express my current emotions/turmoil. Looking forward to attend the next gathering and I wish to read more of my writing works.

16 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page