top of page
  • Writer's pictureILICarrieDoll

Why I Love Luna Lovegood so Much

I grew up with Harry Potter book and film series with my Potterhead father. While everyone is crazy of Harry Potter or Hermoine Granger or even Draco Malfoy, I'm in the other hand is deeply in love with Luna Lovegood.

I know I mentioned this to some of you for many times but I'm gonna say it again. The only character I idolised (and want to be) is Luna Lovegood from Harry Potter. Normally I don't look up on others, real people or fictional characters, but I really admire Luna, and I do think Evanna Lynch did a good job making her more likeable in the film series. I think Luna is the only reason I really enjoy Harry Potter.



"You're Just As Sane As I Am"

Let me start. Luna may appeared eccentric, somewhat air-headed and lack of self-awareness - and - she don't problem people thinks her that way and underestimate her as she is actually smart, brave and strong.


People sees her as eccentric (which she is kinda; down from her mannerism, to train of thoughts and fashion sense), but she is content the way she is; she didn't act differently for the sake of wanting to be different, she is just being true to herself.

Now many may argue with me on this, but I truly believes Luna do have high self-awareness; she is aware she is different, she is aware this is one of the reasons why people tends to avoid her, - which again didn't hurt her because to her she is just being true to herself and she knows she didn't hurt anyone by doing so.


(Now this is the part she have that I didn't have and I wish I have. People often bullied her but that didn't made her angry or bitter. She move on with her life and continue to mind her own business. I know I had kinda had become a bitter person and somewhat mentally scarred from the childhood bullying).


In general she is a very pleasant person to be around with. Remember the moment she called Dobby "Sir"? Of course, Dobby spent most of his life being disrespected and abused so it was heartwarming that Luna referred to him as "Sir"- and Dobby seemed delighted by it too. Luna may be oblivious with her constant act of kindness had touched many people but that's what make her a very pure, genuine person.


She is not troubled by the fact she lacks of friends due to her eccentricity; she understand too well it's better to have few but true friends (which Harry is one of them).


Luna is greatly loved by her father (her mother died when she was young but it is hinted she will love her dearly too) and by her friends. She is very kind, loyal and protective of them. She is very empathetic and can read the room well. Due to losing her mother at early age, Luna can sympathies others and knows how to comfort them (Harry especially).

Think back the quiet time she had with Harry in the forest where she introduced Harry to the Thestrals. It is at the moment when Harry feels alone for being the only one among his friends to be able to see the Thestrals Luna comes to comfort him, giving him all the supports he needs (and the start of their friendship). While most people were afraid of The Thestrals, Luna feels akin to them and sees their difference as beautiful - again showcasing her kindness and empathy. This scene also shows a different side to Luna as she reveals why she can see Thestrals.


Don't make me start to talk the length she puts to support her friends. Unlike her peers, she has little interest in gossip and actually just want to help her friends.


And lastly she's a Ravenclaw!


My house! Hooooraaaay!


At times of need Luna is able to offer words of wisdom (she wasn't sorted into Ravenclaw by accident after all). She isn't upset or annoyed when her possessions are taken (by her bullies) and is actually able to see the funny side. She know when she needs to stand up, which is the only time she really raises her voice in the series. During the battle in the Department of Mysteries, Luna demonstrates her new skills and is able to take on one of the Deatheaters. Her ability to solve problems shows that she is a true Ravenclaw.

Just look at her, she don't give af what others think of her (and didn't hurt anyone in doing so either). In some sense I can relate to her; her outlandish outfits case is the same with me wearing lolita as a daily wear. I mentioned in my previous blog, "Who you Idolize Reflects your Personality" and I said over and over again, I really want to be like Luna.

Also gotta love the name Luna Lovegood!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 by ILI. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page